The history of Our Lady of Lourdes school building is both unique & interesting.
Our building was originally built in 1909 was then know as St. Mary's School.
At the time of opening its doors, St. Mary's School accommodated a mix of boys and girls grade 1-12. In 1918, the boys were moved to another building in the neighborhood and this school was renamed "St. Mary's Girls School". The building was enlarged in 1958 with additional wings and continued to be a school for girls until 1979. The building was then vacated and partially used for offices of the Diocese of Calgary.
In the summer of 2002 the building was demolished, with intentions of rebuilding a new school that would resemble the original. It is told that some of the brick & sandstone from the original building were used to build our new school.
Currently Our Lady of Lourdes is a school for Grade 1-9 students with behavioural issues & complex needs. We are blessed to work in a beautiful building with such interesting history.